Just like every other state in the U.S., New York has specific requirements for auto insurance. As a New York driver, you are required to carry a certain amount of auto insurance so that you are protected in the event of a collision.
If you decide not to carry the required coverage, you will not be able to register your vehicle or renew your vehicle’s registration. Additionally, your vehicle registration and driver license may be suspended as a result of the failure to carry adequate coverage.
Here are the coverages you need to carry as a New York driver:
- $10,000 for property damage for a single accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury of a person involved in an accident
- $50,000 for the death of a person involved in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury of two or more people involved in an accident
- $100,000 for the death of two or more people involved in an accident
You must also abide by the following rules:
- Your insurance coverage must remain in place while the registration is valid, regardless of whether you use the vehicle.
- Your policy must be New York State insurance coverage issued through a company that is licensed by the New York State Department of Financial Services and certified by the NY State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- Out-of-state insurance policies are never allowed.
- The policy must be issued in the name of the person who registers the vehicle and must remain in the registrant’s name at all times.
Being involved in a car accident is never a fun or favorable experience, so our attorneys are here to help ease the pain. Our team has helped hundreds of people just like you, and we may be able to help you, too. Don’t delay—contact our office right away with any questions you may have.
Call the New York lawyers at The Ahearne Law Firm, PLLC today at (845) 763-4100 to speak with an accomplished attorney about your case.